• attractions-stonewallcemetery

    Stonewall Jackson Memorial Cemetery


    Stonewall Jackson and his family are buried beneath the heroic-size statue of Stonewall Jackson sculpted by artist Edward V. Valentine and unveiled in 1891 before a crowd of more than 20,000 people. On the front of the granite column is the simple inscription “JACKSON” followed by the dates “1824-1863.” On the obverse side is the inscription “STONEWALL.”

    Also buried at the cemetery are 144 Confederate veterans including General William N. Pendleton, Revolutionary War veterans, two Virginia governors (John Letcher and James McDowell) and Margaret Junkin Preston (Civil War Poet Laureate of the South).

  • attractions-lexingtoncarriage

    Lexington Carriage Company


    Discover Lexington via horse-drawn carriage as your driver shares stories and points out the many historic sites along the way. The tour offers an intriguing way to experience historic downtown and follow in the footsteps of Jackson. Ride past the Stonewall Jackson House, Lee Chapel, Stonewall Jackson Cemetery, and Lexington Presbyterian Church.

    As you relax to the rhythm of hoofbeats, you will also learn about two famous horses that still remain in Lexington: Jackson’s trusted horse, Little Sorrel and Lee’s beloved horse, Traveller. Little Sorrell is on display at the Virginia Military Institute Museum, and Traveller is buried right outside of the Lee Chapel.

    Visit Lexington Carriage Company on Facebook.

  • img3

    Stonewall Jackson House


    The Stonewall Jackson House located on Washington Street in downtown Lexington is the only home that Jackson ever owned.  Jackson purchased the modest brick and stone house in 1858 and lived there with his second wife, Mary Anna Morrison.  In 1979, the house was carefully restored and it is now listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

    Guided tours of the period rooms are available, and special emphasis is placed on Jackson’s life as a professor, church leader, businessman, husband, and community leader during the decade that he lived in Lexington and taught at the Virginia Military Institute.

    Visit Stonewall Jackson House on Facebook.


  • img-3

    Virginia Military Institute Museum


    The Virginia Military Institute Museum is housed in Jackson Memorial Hall, and exhibits include a display of Stonewall Jackson’s military uniform, raincoat, and warhorse, Little Sorrell.  The museum also features the world-acclaimed Henry M. Stewart Antique Firearms Collection.

    Guided tours of the Virginia Military Institute are available beginning in the museum lobby each day at noon.  Visitors can see the four cannons that Jackson used in his artillery classes (Matthew, Mark, Luke and John) as well as a memorial to the cadets that fought and died in the Battle of New Market.

    The public is also invited to watch as the entire Corps of Cadets marches in formation during regularly scheduled full-dress parades.   A special full-dress parade is held each May 15 to honor the cadets that fought and died during the Battle of New Market.


  • lexington-leechapel

    Lee Chapel and Museum


    Lee Chapel was constructed at the request of Confederate General Robert E. Lee who became president of what was then Washington College after the Civil War. Daily worship services were held on the main floor, and Lee’s office and the college treasurer’s office were located on the lower level.

    Today, a memorial sculpture of the recumbent Lee by Edward Valentine is on display on the main floor and the chapel itself is used for concerts and lectures. On the lower level, visitors can view the Lee family crypt and Lee’s carefully preserved office. Lee’s beloved horse, Traveller, is interred in a plot outside the museum entrance.


  • attractions-lexingtonchurch

    Lexington Presbyterian Church


    When Jackson arrived in Lexington in 1851, he became a member of Lexington Presbyterian Church located at the corner of Main Street and Nelson Street in downtown Lexington. The pastor of the church at the time, Reverend William S. White, soon became Jackson’s spiritual mentor, and Jackson could often be found socializing at the manse which sits a few blocks away on White Street.

    In 1855, Thomas Jackson established a Sunday school for blacks which met on Sunday afternoons. The gatherings opened with a hymn, followed by prayer, lessons based on scripture and instruction in the Shorter Catechism. In 1857, Jackson was one of three men elected by the congregation to serve as Deacons of the church. The responsibilities of the Deacons included care of the poor and collection of funds to provide for salaries, upkeep of the church building and other expenses.